Japanese Room

Karen Klein

I wish my mind were a Japanese room:

light-filled, profound in its simplicity.

Along its four walls, shelves of white oak

with meticulous stacks of everything

I ever knew arranged by times and subjects,

open to the air, easily accessible.

But my mind is a cavernous, old barn

located in some remote place, filled

with ersatz antiques, sour smell of rot.

Gold-tasseled drapes drip over piles

of photo albums, each page an oval frame

into which photographs can be inserted.

But in these, the photos are all missing.

If I could walk into my Japanese room,

I would find in which Duino Elegy

Rilke speaks of the cosmos needing us

to speak, to bear witness, to name things.

Here is the sayable. But in my barn

I can’t even find where I put my secrets.

Karen Klein

Retiring from Brandeis Faculty, Karen Klein turned to modern dance and poetry. Her poems have been published in print journals and online, including Fusion (guest artist), Pudding Magazine, The Comstock Review, SLANT, The Somerville Times, Ibbetson #47, The Muddy River Poetry Review, Constellations, and are forthcoming in The Bards Anthology 2020, Wilderness House Literary Review, The Cape Cod Times. A member of Steeple Street Poets, she was nominated for a Pushcart Prize and is working on her first chapbook.


This article is available to subscribers only.
Subscribe now or log in to read this article.